Aprenda PL/SQL

Professional Update

Este forum é destinado a perguntas e respostas quanto aos cursos e escolas sobre Oracle que estão disponíveis. Opinião sobre livros. Também é permitido anunciar aqui.

Poston Wed, 14 Jun 2017 8:51 am

Hello fellow forum.

Work for almost 20 years with Oracle, PL/SQL, Forms, and Reports. And a bit of XML.
I'm 7 years at my current company, where we use 10 and 11 g with Bank Forms 10 g.
I'vê always been a reasonable amount of time in each company, and always with the same tool.
I majored in computer science and I made a post on managing systems, has some 15 years.
I had some mishaps in life, like everybody else, which made my return to studies, and today I feel outdated professionally.
So, I want and need to upgrade!
I'vê thought about learning Java, but talking to people in this area, I noticed that there are several different platforms, also in my current job I don't have space to use, case study. Difficult to invest in something to leave standing, especially in these times of crisis ...
Other people told me to invest in EBS is expensive and, due to the cost to deploy, many companies don't want. I'vê heard in Java, SOA, Cloud, Big Data, Oracle Retail and, honestly, I was lost.

I would like some tips from colleagues about where a professional in my situation should start to update, keeping in the Oracle world.

Thank you!
adriana.arraes

Adriana C. S. Arraes

Poston Wed, 14 Jun 2017 10:41 am

Hello Adriana.

This is the situation of many.
About the Oracle Forms: there are still a few companies that use. But most still have just as " " legacy software. Because they are moving to other technologies. The forms is the new cobol " ". Companies that still use, is because it's very complicated to migrate.